This morning, Lieutenant Governor Russ Mirasty presented 10 dedicated individuals with the 2023 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal during a ceremony at Government House. 

“The time and care these volunteers have given to causes ranging from youth, veterans’ and women’s issues to arts and culture, does not go unnoticed,” Mirasty said. “I am honoured to have been able to meet these recipients and to recognize their exceptional contributions during National Volunteer Week.”

The recipients of the 2023 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal are:

  • Jyotsna (Jo) Custead
  • Suzanne Eisler
  • Major (Ret’d) Brad Hrycyna, C.D.
  • Jim Meikle
  • Douglas Osborn
  • Jeanette Tonita
  • Pat Tymchatyn
  • Hazel Urbanoski
  • Dr. Judy White
  • Helga Wold

Since its establishment in 1995, the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal has been awarded to extraordinary citizens across the province for their outstanding contributions to Saskatchewan. Today’s recipients join the ranks of 261 exemplary volunteers recognized in previous years. 

Nominations are now open for the 2024 Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal. Individuals and organizations are encouraged to nominate current or former long-term residents of Saskatchewan who go above and beyond for their community through acts of volunteerism. Nominations are open until October 31, 2024. 

For more information about the Saskatchewan Volunteer Medal or to nominate someone for Saskatchewan Honours and Awards, visit