Premier Makes Cabinet Changes

Premier Brad Wall re-organized his cabinet today, changing the responsibilities of about half of his ministers.

Wall said the new cabinet provides a balance of continuity and fresh perspectives that will keep Saskatchewan on the path of steady growth.

“Our province’s economy remains strong and as a government, we are working to ensure all Saskatchewan people share in the benefits of a growing economy,” Wall said.  “I believe this new cabinet strikes the right balance and will keep our growth agenda on track.”

Veteran minister Don McMorris becomes Minister responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA), Saskatchewan Government Insurance, the Public Service Commission and the government’s Lean Initiative.

“Many Saskatchewan people have been telling me they would like to see more private liquor retail options in our province,” Wall said.   “I have asked Minister McMorris, as SLGA minister, to look at various options and consider what makes sense for our province.”

Four other current ministers change portfolios:

  • Kevin Doherty becomes Minister of Advanced Education and Minister responsible for SaskTel;
  • Donna Harpauer becomes Minister of Social Services and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Housing Corporation and the Status of Women;
  • Nancy Heppner becomes Minister of Highways and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation; and
  • Tim McMillan becomes Minister responsible for Rural and Remote Health.

“Shortly after taking office, our government conducted a Patient First review to ensure our priority in the health system was on the patient and front-line services,” Wall said.  “I have asked Minister McMillan to do a Patient First update to make sure we continue to focus on patients and that health care dollars are getting to the front lines of care as they should.  Specifically, I am asking him to look at the balance of resources going to administration versus front-line staff, services and care.”

Former minister Jeremy Harrison returns to cabinet as the Associate Minister of the Economy responsible for trade, tourism, innovation and immigration.

Three MLAs enter cabinet for the first time:

  • Jennifer Campeau becomes Minister of Central Services and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Transportation      Corporation;
  • Mark Docherty becomes Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital      Commission; and
  • Scott Moe becomes Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for SaskWater and the Water Security Agency.

Eight ministers remain in their current portfolios:

  • Ken Krawetz remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance;
  • Bill Boyd remains Minister of the Economy, Minister responsible for SaskPower and the Global Transportation Hub and adds responsibility for Energy and Resources;
  • Dustin Duncan remains Minister of Health;
  • Don Morgan remains Minster of Education, Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and Minister responsible for the Workers’ Compensation Board;
  • Jim Reiter remains Minister of Government Relations and Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and adds responsibility for SaskEnergy;
  • Lyle Stewart remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation;
  • Christine Tell remains Minister responsible for Corrections and Policing; and
  • Gordon Wyant remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General and adds responsibility for SaskBuilds.

“Minister Wyant will be establishing a branch of SaskBuilds called Priority Saskatchewan to help ensure Saskatchewan companies are being treated fairly when it comes to bidding on Saskatchewan projects, whether they are government-tendered projects or private sector projects,” Wall said.  “We have been hearing growing concerns about some other provinces giving preferential treatment to their local companies, so we are going to make sure there is a level playing field and Saskatchewan companies are not at a disadvantage.”

The number of ministers remains at 18, including the Premier.  The size of cabinet has not changed since the government took office in 2007.

Ken Cheveldayoff becomes the Government House Leader while Corey Tochor becomes Deputy Leader.  Greg Ottenbreit remains Government Whip while Fred Bradshaw becomes Deputy Whip.

Nadine Wilson becomes Provincial Secretary and Legislative Secretary to the Premier.

There are six other new legislative secretaries:

  • Greg Brkich becomes Legislative Secretary  to the Minister of the Economy (Rail Transportation Initiative);
  • Larry Doke becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Highways;
  • Wayne Elhard becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs (International and Diplomatic Engagement);
  • Victoria Jurgens becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Government Relations (Northern Saskatchewan);
  • Warren Michelson becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of the Economy (Manufacturing Sector); and
  • Roger Parent becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister responsible for SaskBuilds (Priority Saskatchewan Initiative).

Russ Marchuk, Paul Merriman, Greg Lawrence and Kevin Phillips maintain their existing Legislative Secretary duties.

Wall thanked the members who left cabinet and said they will all continue to play important roles in the government.